ALRs from Posts 178 and 321 prepare to ride in Gainesville’s 21st annual Medal of Honor Parade.


Posts 178 and 321 ALRs ride to honor Medal of Honor recipients

Frisco, TX

The Medal of Honor is the highest award for valor in action against an enemy force which can be bestowed upon an individual serving in the armed services of the United States.

In 2001 Gainesville, Texas, became the only city in America to host our nation’s highest decorated heroes to promote patriotism. On April 23, 2022, it completed its 21st annual Medal of Honor Parade.

Seven Medal of Honor recipients attended the parade this year: Sgt. Allen James Lynch, Specialist 4th Class Michael John Fizmaurice, Staff Sgt. Melvin Morris, Capt. James Allen Taylor, Capt. James E. Livingston, Petty Officer Robert “Bob” Ingram and Hospital Corpsman 2nd Class Donald “Doc” Ballard.

Eight ALR members from Posts 178 and 321 rode 70 miles to participate along with hundreds of other motorcyclists in this year’s parade. George Sutton, Post 178 ALR director, said, “It was an honor to celebrate the heroism of the Medal of Honor recipients.”

« Previous story
Next story »