Left to Right Front Row: Fred Rogers, Post 178 commander, Anmol Dubey, Liberty High School, Jedaiah Ward, Club 19:14 Home School, Emma Ko, Club 19:14 Home School, Lakshita Soma, Heritage High School Back Row: Ed Reed, Post 178 Oratorical Program chairman, Harbani Kohli, Memorial High School, and Dan Stricklin, Frisco councilman-elect.


Post 178 names speech contest winners

Frisco, TX

Four high school students from the Frisco area were named winners and received $250 college scholarships at the American Legion Post 178 Oratorical Scholarship Contest. The competition was held in the Council Chambers at Frisco’s George A. Purefoy Municipal Center on Saturday, Dec. 12. The four orators will now compete at the district contest in Royse City on Jan. 2, 2021, against other contest winners from the 4th District.

Each contestant delivered a prepared oration as well as an oration on a randomly assigned constitutional topic. All contestants impressed the judges with their speaking skills and presentation content.

The four winners in alphabetical order were Anmol Dubey, a freshman at Liberty High School, Emma A. Ko, a junior at Club 19:14 Home School, Harbani K. Kohli, a junior at Memorial High School, and Jedaiah D. Ward, a freshman at Club 19:14 Home School.

Since 1938, the American Legion High School Oratorical Scholarship Program has encouraged the nation’s high school students to study the U.S. Constitution and hone their public speaking skills.

« Previous story
Next story »