Baltimore City Veterans Commission

Baltimore District Council - Baltimore, MD

On Veteran’s Day November 11, 2009, the first Veterans Commission for Baltimore City was sworn in by Mayor Sheila Dixon. The primary responsibilities of the eleven-member commission will be to articulate the needs and issues that impact Veteran’s and their families.

Three members of the commission belong to the American Legion. They are the commission first chairperson Clarence “Tiger” Davis, Otha Spriggs II Memorial Post 294, Baltimore District Council Adjutant Thomas Zentgraf Morrell Park Post 137and Baltimore District Council Area Commander Maxine Canty.

Members of the Baltimore City Schools ROTC program and the following public officials attended the ceremony. Baltimore City Council President Stephanie Rawlings Blake, Comptroller Joan Pratt, Councilwoman Mary Pat Clarke, Councilman Robert Curran, Councilwoman Rochelle "Rikki" Spector, Councilman Bill Henry, Delegate Melvin Stukes and Mayor Jeffrey Slavin of Somerset, Maryland to swear in members of the newly formed Veterans Commission.

« Previous story
Next story »