Emile Ladnier WWI Memorial/Pershing Square Certificate/Award, Ocean Springs, Miss.

Ocean Springs, MS

100 memorials in 100 cities have now been designated official WWI Centennial Memorials, including such national landmarks as Chicago’s Soldier Field, LA’s Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, San Francisco’s War Memorial Veterans Building and Opera House, Honolulu’s Natatorium and Washington, D.C.’s National World War I Memorial at Pershing Park. In addition, many smaller, local community projects are being recognized, such as Scranton, Pa.'s Col. Frank Duffy Memorial Bridge and Park; Cape May, N.J.'s Soldier and Sailors Monument; Ocean Springs, Miss.' Emile Ladnier WWI Memorial; and North Carolina's NC State University Memorial Belltower, to name just a few. The newly-designated memorials are in 37 different states.

The important thing to remember about Pershing Square is you don’t have to be a Congressional Medal of Honor recipient, Silver Star, Purple Heart (PH) , Bronze Star Medal (BSM), French Legion of Honor recipient, a survivor of the Bataan Death March in WWII, or to have served overseas or be from Ocean Springs, although all of these honored veterans are represented in Pershing Square. Scores of the bricks honor Ocean Springs residents and family members who served, including the 15 original charter members of World War I Emile Ladnier American Legion Post 42 (dated Dec. 19, 1919): H. Powell, Joseph C. Chaillot, R. Englaith, Oscar T. Davis, William L, Chaillot, Deo F. Bertuccini, Thomas Murphy, Van Cleave Reid, S. Chester Davis, Floyd Howell, James T. Ryan, Louis S. Tardy, L. Westbrook, Narcisse Dick and W.M. Abraham. Among the last bricks to be placed in Pershing Square were in memory of USMC MSGT John E. Hayes, killed in action 8 July 2009, and GYSGT Jon W. Gifford, killed in action 29 July 2012, both in Afghanistan.

« Previous story
Next story »